top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

Clean or not!

Updated: Jan 14, 2020

“Welcome to ‘Clean or not’! I am Howie, your host. Today, we would be going to different homes to help people who have difficulty keeping their place clean.” Before I jump into that, let me explain to you how it all started.

Two weeks ago, Channel 8 featured a Mediacorp actor Chen Hanwei, who went around helping hoarders clean up a certain part of their homes. At the same time, Mr Chen would help to renovate it into a different concept that was for the better. My father loved this programme so much that he suggested we do something similar during the holidays so as to make cleaning less boring. Cleaning again? My sister and I rolled our eyes. How can cleaning ever be fun?”

Earlier this morning, my mother went on a holiday with her secondary school friends. They will be at Desaru for two days. Normally when my mother is not around, my sister and I would be forced to do cleaning with my father. We sighed when he looked at us with an evil grin and confirmed that this time will be no different.


Our first cleaning spot was at my grandmother’s house. Before we got started, my father eagerly shared with us that this was our chance to role-play that television programme! My sister and I initially hated the idea of role-playing. Eventually, my sister was the cameraman, my father was the host and I was the “hoarder”. We brainstormed and came up with a name for our “programme”. It was called “Clean or Not!” Our main objective was to show a stark contrast before and after our cleaning was done.

*The pictures above are in a slideshow. Tap the arrow on the right to see more photos.

My father started off the video by introducing this “programme.” Afterwards, he led the cameraman to meet the “hoarder” and convinced him (that's me!) to clean and throw away some items. Surprisingly, role-playing, actually made cleaning fun! It did not feel like a chore anymore! This sped up our cleaning and we finished cleaning the entire piano area in just half an hour. After this fun experience, my sister and I requested to do more role-playing (cleaning) but this time at Duxton. He smiled and gladly agreed.


During the ride back here, we were fighting over who should be allocated which role.

We enthusiastically bolted into the house and sprung into action. When the cleaning was done, I took all the video footage and edited them immediately. We eagerly awaited mother’s return from her trip so that she could watch the videos with us. Until now, I never imagined cleaning could be this fun!

*The pictures above are in a slideshow. Tap the arrow on the right to see more photos.

Howie Chia

30 November 2019

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page