top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

My first Netball Finals

Updated: Jul 14, 2022

Earlier this year, I teamed up with Ethan, Dhiivyesh, Jin Jing, Christopher, Jie Si, Raenie to participate in SST’s netball competition in our Sports and Wellness (SnW) class.

Leading to the finals, we were the only undefeated team left. In our 4th and final match, we again played with team C (led by Everett). They were the strongest team in the competition, but miraculously we managed to beat them 2-1 in our last match. As my team discussed strategies in our rematch with team C, we agreed no matter what the outcome, we have tried our best and already surpassed expectations by reaching the finals.

"Beep!" the moment the whistle sounded, the opposing team attacked relentlessly.

Their movement was fast and efficient. It was near impossible to intercept their passes.

During our possession, we fumbled quite a bit. Christopher was not familiar playing with Jie Si (goal shooter) and often overestimated her running speed by passing the ball too far ahead of her. This resulted in many turnovers. For the few times Jie Si managed to catch the ball, she was standing too far from the goal and ended up passing to me (goal attacker) to score.


At one point in the game, I dived for the ball and crashed into my opponent in the process. I landed awkwardly and hurt my left foot. Despite my injury, I was able to join back the game in the second half.


eyes on the ball!
eyes on the ball!

As the seconds ticked away, the final score was 1-0. Our team finally lost.


During the game, I even had a chance to tie the score when I was awarded a free throw due to the opposing team’s obstruction violation. Even though I missed, my team did not blame me. We collaborated well in the past four games and have bonded as a team. Nonetheless, I am pissed for missing the shot which could have levelled the score. I will use this as motivation to improve my shooting skills.


Its been a very exciting netball tournament and I am looking forward to the next SnW activity. Basketball is next!


Chia Howie

23 March 2020



11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page