top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

Recap of year 2 at SST (2020)

Updated: Jan 2, 2021

SST Inc & CDO

When I found out that I was the newly elected CDO, I leaped with joy! I looked forward to learning more about design from my seniors, and hopefully, to also teach others when my knowledge & skills are high enough.


However, 8 months forward, things did not turn out as planned. While COVID-19 caused many events to be postponed, it is not an excuse for my lack of involvement as a CDO.


The only thing I worked on was a number of festive cards for SST. For these cards, I tried to collaborate with Thaddeus (assistant CDO) to produce good end products within deadlines. We had a few close calls and some miscommunication along the way. I take those as lessons learnt that can help improve my communications and project planning skills.


Along the way, I learnt to use padlet to consolidate ideas/feedback, rather than just via whatsapp back and forth. https://padlet.com/chia_howie/festivecards This made it much easier for our President, Kesler to review and comment as well.


I attended several meetings online but did not really get involved with SST INC. Only consolation was that my design skills did improve a little, but mostly self-taught. There are 2 more outstanding tasks relating to SST Inc before my term as CDO ends in April 2021, namely: “Annual report design” and facilitating a Workshop on “Design”. I will make the best of the remaining time to learn more and hopefully contribute more meaningfully to the SST community.



Home-based-Learning (HBL)

Due to COVID-19 pandemic, all schools were closed for 1 month and forced into HBL. As students of the School of Science and Technology (SST), the shift to HBL was not that difficult.


Conducting online lessons via GoogleMeet was still a bit of a hassle though. From mic failures to blank screens, lessons starting late, over-runs disrupting other subjects’ lessons, reducing learning time from the other periods, online learning still had its fair share of challenges.


Nonetheless, I liked the HBL experience as I was able to learn asynchronously, and at my own pace. This flexibility also gave me more time. I even got to play board games with my family! Some friends shared that they do not like HBL, but I personally felt that it was a good experience and possibly a new normal moving forward.



SST students investiture

After much delay, SST student investiture was finally held on 18 July 2020, where I received my badge. It was one of the more memorable moments of 2020.




Science Castle

While everybody was relaxing after the EOYs exams, Yeji, Joel and I were busy preparing for the upcoming Science Castle Conference instead. We had carried out an experiment to determine which killing agent (Clorox was winner!) is most effective. From which, we did a follow-up experiment to determine what was the least amount of Clorox concentration required to still kill germs effectively. This is to help consumers save $ by raising their awareness of what is the optimum amount.


Through the process of preparing our presentation pitch, our team, HICKAM bonded much. The conference also allowed us to see how other teams’ projects were applicable to the real world.


To recap, see blog posts:



SConnect 2021

to be updated...

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page