top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

OLE 2019: Day 4

Updated: Dec 12, 2019

The sun rises at Silk island at 4.30 am local time. I know this because at precisely this moment the chickens started crowing. I tried to ignore it, but the repeated sound of roosters crowing was too irritation! Once the crowing started, no one could go back to sleep. This caused a lot of commotion in the boy’s dormitory. Many of my classmates cursed the chickens for interrupting their sleep.

The culprit of the commotion

After hours of mental torture, we finally went back to Koh Okhnately school. Today, we got to play traditional games with the local students in the school. For my group, we played “Duck Duck Goose”, which was basically catching but in groups. In a nutshell, the game involves a catcher who must continue to chase others until he “tags” them as the next catcher.


I played well in this game because I came up with a unique strategy. When it was my turn to be the runner, I ran in circles in front of the groups and willingly get tapped from the catcher and ran away while he/she is still in shock. I did not have to be the fastest runner to be the best player. Ha ha!


Unfortunately, something bad happened later. I heard a cry from a distance. One of our leaders, E-rong, had an accident while playing Zero Point. He landed awkwardly at the wrong angle, and as a result, his knee bone protruded out of his skin!


Upon hearing the bad news, it dawned on me that you must always be mindful of your own safety even when playing a simple game.


Later, we learnt some things about how silk is made.

So cute the silk worm...

Sadly, this was when where we depart. Even though my classmates felt that they have helped them through this experience, I feel that it was they who benefitted us. They already have most of the materials at hand, so the main reason the teacher brought us there was that they want us to learn how to be grateful and cherish everything we have now. Do you agree?


Howie Chia

23 October 2019

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page