top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

Being a House Keeper

Updated: Aug 8, 2019

I have been making my own bed as far back as I can remember. Dad says it helps to build up my character. And that if I can accomplish that one simple task first thing in the morning, it just makes it easier to move on to the next task.

While I can't recall exactly when this "House Keeping" job started, my role has now expanded into the following:

- Making the bed - Folding Laundry

- Sweeping / Vacuuming floor

- Setting up the dinner table

- Keeping / Washing the dishes

- Taking out the trash

He said that all these chores will help prepare me for NS, so I do not mind doing it. However, I do feel strange at times seeing my cousins call upon their maid to do these very same tasks. I was embarrassed initially, but eventually got around the awkwardness. Now, I enjoy keeping my home clean. Sure, it is troublesome and tiring at times, but knowing that it helps reduce the work for my parents makes me proud.


My parents gave me an interesting reward for my efforts in 2016. That year, they allowed my sister and me to have our own separate rooms! In addition, we were able to choose the wallpaper design as well as to paint some parts of our room!

Painting my own room! Not as easy as it looks, ok?
Painting my own room! Not as easy as it looks, ok?

Chia Howie

4 Confidence, RVPS

14 April 2018


~note: this post was written on April 2018, but backdated to April 2009 because that was the year I got this "Job".

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page