top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

Polytechnic is for me

Updated: Jul 14, 2022

During June holidays, I seized the opportunity to attend some of the polytechnic open houses for early admissions exercise (EAE). At some of these EAE talks, the poly lecturer advised us to reflect on our unique strengths and interests.


My Student Graduation Certificate (SGC)
My Student Graduation Certificate (SGC)

As I reflected upon the Student Graduation Certificate (SGC) document that was written by my SST form teacher, it convinced me that I like being active in school, joining different ECAs, and doing project work (be it individual or group work). I am quite diligent in studying but dislike the end-of-year high stakes exams. I much prefer being hands-on and doing some projects which require research, creativity and creating some tangible output.


My favorite subject at SST is Design Studies (DS). When I enrolled into SST, the main appeal was that I would be playing with a lot of technology. Using software programs, etc. that make learning fun. However, it would only be in my 3rd year that I finally discovered the fascinating world of DS. The more I learnt about DS, the more fascinated I am by how good design can impact the environment. In particular, I am most intrigued by how design can change a person’s experience. I.e. a well designed product will leave users with a positive experience & vice-versa.


From designing a physical product, interior & architecture space-planning to badges and eBooks for virtual conferences, I would be drawn to these assignments much more than other subjects. There are so many aspects of design, ranging from product design, environment design, typography to color theory, etc. making it a most fascinating field of study.


In addition, each assignment also taught me other real world applicable skills, e.g. project management, dealing with deadlines / deliverables or collaborating with others, etc. I feel design studies has opened up so many learning opportunities for me..


As I reflect and pen down these thoughts, I am convinced that a course related to DS at the polytechnic is the way forward for me. I hope in a few months time, I will be able to update this blog post with good news from the perspective of a polytechnic student :)


Howie Chia

22 June 2022

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page