top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

Celebrations @ SST 2022

Updated: Jun 21, 2022

Otherwise known more commonly as “Speech Day”, our Celebrations @ SST is an annual event to congratulate SST students on their accomplishments. During my past 4 years in SST, I have always been happy for my peers who received an award. I clapped and cheered loudly for them, and felt proud of their success. Sometimes, I wondered if I would ever be in their shoes. Well, that day has finally come today!

A few days ago, I was informed by my teacher that I won an award during my final term in SST. However, he declined to tell me what it was for. During rehearsal day I entered the hall and found myself surrounded by my Guitar CCA members. I would find out that all of them received a similar invite and that we were all receiving the same award for “SST CCA Outstanding performance”. This was likely due to our guitar ensemble getting consecutive distinction awards at SYF.


I noticed some of my peers looked subdued and asked them why. They lamented that as this was a team award, it was not as meaningful as compared to an individual award. I quickly corrected them by explaining that this award is just as meaningful as any other awards, if not more. This is because this team award shows that we are able to work well with others.


This award would not be possible if we had only a few talented members and the rest not working well together. After all, Michael Jordan was not able to lead his team to a title until he was able to have the right teammates with the right coach. Only by assembling the right cast, and everyone putting our best efforts into learning the musical pieces, were we able to produce a beautiful piece of music. If any of the sections did not do their parts well, it would have adversely affected the overall performance. It took all the different sections’ hard work and collaboration and the consistency to do this year-after-year to pull this off. Hence, I actually am more proud of this award than the Eagles award!


This award also serves as a motivational message to our juniors about what can be achieved if a group of like-minded individuals come together to create something. We (seniors) received this award due to our capabilities of playing our respective sections well. This did not happen by chance. A lot of hard work behind the scenes in the form of guitar practices. What was especially satisfying was that many members like myself did not know how to play guitar when we first joined. However, with the support of our seniors and teachers, we gradually became better. By the time we were seniors, we continued the tradition of paying-it-forward. I feel fulfilled knowing that I was able to help some juniors improve their skills, the same way the seniors helped me when I was just starting out.


A sudden tap on my shoulder brought me back to reality. Kentaro, who was seated next to me, pointed to the other students walking to the stage and beckoned me to follow suit. Eventually, my name was announced, and I stepped forward to receive the award from my Principal, Mr Chan. Thunderous applause and cheers could be heard from my peers below. Although it was over in a few seconds, it really felt wonderful. It was easily the proudest moment of my life.



In my final act as SST guitar ex-chairman, I met up with Wei En earlier today and ensured that all SST guitar CCA-related documentation, processes, websites, etc. were all handed over properly. As fate would have it, today would also be the day that we would all get our awards. Fate works in mysterious ways…


In summary, words cannot describe how proud I am feeling now. Thank you to my friends, teachers and instructors from SST Guitar Ensemble for giving me the opportunity to lead the CCA and help achieve this great milestone together.


Yours sincerely,

Howie Chia

13 April 2022

~“One Guitar, One Sound”.


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page