top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

Being My Sister's Science Teacher

Updated: Jun 8, 2018

Have you ever wondered what it's like being a teacher? Let me share my experience with you.


First, I must declare that I did not receive any formal training. I am just a normal school boy tasked (by dad) to teach my little sister on P3 science. Until I started this, I could never imagine how it feels to be a teacher. I now know how frustrating it is to be in my teacher's shoes.


My sister does not pay any attention, and often easily distracted. However, I try my best to reach out to her, by making jokes about science questions. To make things more interesting, I use Google to look for images, YouTube for videos and even MC online LMS. All this different resources helps to make her understand certain science concepts better.

To my surprise, I learnt some new information while going through topics with her. I feel that my own knowledge about science has improved! My father said that this is a good way to recap what I had learnt/learned over the past few years. While I agree, I also think he is just glad that he does not have to teach my stubborn little sister! Ha...ha...

Regardless, this experience of training my sister has given me a new skill, that is to search for answers effectively. When you do not understand something, you can always go online and surf the web to find the answer. Google can search for anything I throw at it! It might turn out to be a useful skill for me.


In a nutshell, I am glad to be given this newest "job". My immediate target is to prepare myself for PSLE while helping improve my sister's science score. After that, I believe there can be ways where I team up with her to help other children who may need help with science but cannot afford tuition. That will be another story for another time...


Chia Howie

6 Diligence, RVPS

10 March 2018

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page