top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

Dear Guitar Ensemble

Updated: Apr 13, 2022

As the previous CCA session fell on April fool’s day, I expected pranks and jokes to be unleashed on the seniors, but I was still caught off-guard with what was to come.


Before the event started, the new EXCOs had requested me to host a bonding session for the ensemble. So, I entered the auditorium, and was about to set up the stations when the new chairperson, Wei En, stopped me. He said that the instructors have organised something before that. Curious, I asked my previous EXCO members but no one knew what was happening. It turned out that the instructors were critiquing our performance videos. After watching the video performances, the slide suddenly changed to a picture of an Oscar award. The Secondary 3 EXCOs stepped on stage and announced the start of the 2022 Guitar Ensemble Oscar Awards.


The entire Guitar Ensemble did not expect this. After moments of dead silence, laughter ensued. Amongst the excitement, the new EXCOs shared that today was a farewell ceremony to show appreciation to the soon-to-be departing Secondary 4s. They would be giving out unique “awards” to each of the nominees. “Most cherished senior” was the first award announced. Hearing that, the first thought that came to my mind was either Naomi or Kentaro. To my surprise, my name was called and an “unglam” photo of me was projected on stage. I remained stunned as I ambled upstage. As my instructor My Ang passed me the award, he thanked me for my hard work during the past year, in particular, my efforts behind the scenes. Occasionally, I address the ensemble during debriefs, but I indeed much prefer working behind the scenes as I believe in and practice a servant style of leadership.


Just then, “Speech…speech!” echoed through the hall. I squirmed as I was handed a mic. Without any preparation, I simply shared straight from my heart and thanked everyone for the opportunity to lead the ensemble and how it helped me to grow as a character and build relationships with my peers.


The ceremony continued with the other nominees receiving their respective awards. Everyone was nominated and each gave a heartfelt speech. Each received a card and a soft toy as our “award”. All the secondary 4s were given quirky award names and greeted with loud cheers and thunderous applause. Afterwards, we gathered together on stage to take a group photo. To top it all off, we then took a fun shot by throwing the soft toys in the air.


As I gazed at all my guitar ensemble friends and teachers, I reflected on how far we have come over the last 4 years. The hard work we put in and the friendships we forged will never be forgotten. I want to give special appreciation to EXCO (2021), instructors and the teachers for supporting me during the past 4 years. Seeing everyone’s skill improve along with the ensemble bond through participating in competitions together was very fulfilling. The newly set up Guitar Website, Facebook and Instagram pages, as well as the new friendships relationships built, will hopefully continue even after I step down. I feel fortunate that I was able to contribute positively to my CCA and leave a mark behind. I believe that I gained much more than I had put into the CCA. I truly cherish these wonderful 4 years in SST. Thank you Guitar Ensemble for the wonderful memories. All the best for your future endeavours!


~“One Guitar, One Sound, Howie”.

1 April 2022

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page