top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

Garage Sale

Updated: Nov 23, 2018

Actual day: 11Nov2018


Early in the morning, my sister and I headed to our cousins’ house to participate in their inaugural “Garage Sale”! We were shocked to see the number of items displayed before our very eyes.


My sister optimistically remarked that we would be able to sell all of these stuff, as well as the ones we brought. Upon hearing that, I rolled my eyes. My sister had no idea how difficult it is to sell items. Some street paddlers cannot even sell a single item after a whole day's work. On top of that, how many people will actually drop by our stall? Nonetheless, I did my best to help out my cousins, secretly hoping that my hypothesis was wrong.

After a while, I started to get worried. Even though many curious people came in to take a look, most of them left empty-handed. Worst still, some of them wasted a lot of our time and did not buy a single item! My cousins noticed this as well. So, we quickly huddled together and decided to do something different. The girls went out to distribute the flyers to attract more potential customers while the boys stayed behind to man the stalls.

Anyone?

It was hard work constantly welcoming and introducing people about the items we were selling. It did not take long for me to feel exhausted. At times I wanted to give up, but looking at the others working so hard and diligently, it motivated me to continue.

Hello! What do you want to buy?

After a while, some of us decided to swap roles. I was initially delighted that I no longer needed to welcome any more people, but I was so wrong! As time past, the garage got increasingly hotter. The blazing sun made me it quite unbearable to distribute flyers. It was just so hot, I could not wait to run back to the house for shade! Now I finally understood the hardships of a road side seller.

At the end, the sale was over and we packed up the unsold stuff. As I was packing, it dawned on me how easy it is to spend money, but so difficult to earn it back.

Also, I realized the importance of being creative and doing things differently to attract new customers. Lastly, I learnt that if one perseveres though hard work, it will be a meaningful experience. I had fun and hope to have another opportunity like this again soon.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page