top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

Genting 2019

Updated: Jul 11, 2019

Malaysia, Genting Highlands.

15-19 June 2019

During the June holidays, the weather was scorching hot. Everyone was perspiring from head to toe. Hence, the family decided to take a break from the heat by making a short trip to Genting! Sadly, my father could not as he had work to do. Regardless, as I have never been to Genting, I looked forward to this new experience.


On the first day, in order to avoid the traffic jam, we left the house in the wee hours of Saturday morning. Even though Genting was not so far from Singapore, it took us a long 9 hours for us to reach there. Mainly because we were stuck in traffic jam at Kuala Lumpur. I felt bad for the driver (my mother hired) who had to stay focused on the road for such a long duration. When we finally reached there, we quickly check in to our accommodation at “First World hotel” to rest. As we waited at the hotel lobby, something written on the pillar made me stare in awe. This hotel has 7531 rooms, making it the largest hotel in the world! Shocking, right?


Although it is the largest, their hotel rooms and the television were small. I guessed that was how they squeezed in so many rooms at the hotel. I was alright with the room, but slightly disgusted with the taste of the water they provided. Oddly, it tasted like cigarette was added inside. I later discovered that many smokers were drinking straight from the tap. They literally covered the top with their mouth! Eewwh!!! Strange enough, it was at this moment that I realized how privileged my sister and I were to go for holidays and stay in such luxurious hotel rooms. I swore to myself that I will pay back my parents in the future.


The next day, I was ecstatic to know that we will be taking a glass cable car down to KL! As I was afraid of heights, a cold shiver went down my spine when I looked down. Despite that, the breathtaking view soon made me forget that I was actually on the cable car!


When we reached KL, we met up with my uncle and headed for the Science Center (Petronas) in the Twin Towers. Even though we came here 2 years ago, I still discovered many things there. Perhaps, I am now older and able to understand more things?

After that, we explored the night market. For my mother and sister, it was fun to bargain-shopping. However, it was a torture for me! I cannot stand people bargaining. Even if they got the price they wanted, they will sometimes just walk away. I would always have some sympathy for the sellers. It must be tough working non-stop from dawn till dusk. Hence, I want my mother and sister to just give the amount they asked for. To which they will scold me, “Keep quiet!”


On the third day, my sister and I were jumping up and down delighted for the indoor theme park! Even though there are many rides in the theme park, I have played most of the rides in Singapore already. Except for one ride. At the far end of the amusement park stood “Void”, a virtual reality (VR) experience on Star Wars. When I knew about this ride, my eyes lit up. I have always loved VR, but this one was better than I expected. When I put on my goggles, it sucked me into the Star Wars world.

Everything around me felt so real. Even when we were next to the lava, I could feel the scorching heat. What was most engaging was that we were able to shoot our enemies with blasters! Take that Darth Vader! The sound effects blended in nicely too. This only further deepened my liking towards VR.

The following day, we checked out of Genting and headed for KL! Even though the weather and the amusement park were great, I did not think I want to come back again. The things were too expensive and it was quite boring for my sister and me. Soon, after checking into our hotel, we headed straight for “Kidzania”! Even though I have been there many times, I still feel that Kidzania is meaningful as it gives us exposure to try out all the different jobs in the world and see which one is suitable for us. However, as the job markets are drastically changing, how will we know whether many of these jobs will still be around in the near future? Regardless, I still had fun playing at the different booths. Only thing I disliked was the long waiting time because there were a lot of schools present too!

After an exhausting but fun day, we went shopping at the night market. There was a bag that my sister wanted, but no matter how hard my sister and my mother bargained, they could only reduce the price by 5%. In the end, they did not get the bag and walked away but had a satisfied look on their faces. Weird.

We started the last day with a wholesome breakfast at “Hai Nan Tea”. The food was average, but their coffee was mind-blowingly good! We had to buy a few packets to bring home. After checking out the hotel, we took “First Coach” bus home. Time passes very quickly when we watched movies on the bus! Not long, we reached Singapore! I was so relieved to be in Singapore again! I missed my father and my home dearly! At that moment, I felt that despite the fun I had at Genting and KL, nothing beats home.

Howie

20 June 2019

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page