top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

My First Eagle Award

Updated: Apr 11, 2022

“Next up, Chia Howie!” as my name echoed through the ceremony hall, I walked on stage towards the guest of honour (GOH). After 6 years of Primary School and 4 years in Secondary school, I was finally getting this elusive Eagles award!


A few months ago, I received a formal letter from MOE saying that I won the Eagles Award due to my exemplary conduct in school. Happiness surged through every fibre of my body. My parents were overjoyed too. Fast forward to the present, I am now attending an award ceremony at Tiong Bahru Community Center about to receive my award. When my name was called, I stepped onto the stage but suddenly froze. Glancing at the audience in the auditorium, it felt like an infinite amount of eyes were judging me, critiquing whether I deserve this award. I started having doubts about myself. “Did I really deserve this award? As I dived deeper into my negative thoughts, my confidence started to sink faster than the Titanic ship.


However, a warm pat on my shoulder jolted me back to reality. That small gesture from my mother made me realise that my parents’ guidance and teachings carved the pathway for me to succeed but ultimately I got the Eagles award based on my own hard work and ability. Unlike academic-related awards, the Eagles award is based on your individual contribution to the school and exemplary character. No amount of tuition could teach you this. In hindsight, I have always helped others and behaved well in class even when nobody was watching. I deserve this award as much as the other recipients.


I took a deep breath, regained my composure and walked towards our GOH, Ms Indranee who was holding my award. Within a few short seconds, we took a picture together and promptly got off the stage. However, the journey to achieve this goal required me to walk a thousand miles. My confidence surged as I held the award certificate in my hands. I could only describe the feeling at that moment in one word, “Proud”. At the corner of my eye, the sight of my parents’ cheering me on reminded me how grateful I should be that they are always there for me.



After leaving the auditorium, I have a new sense of determination and confidence to do well for my upcoming O levels. I will continue to work hard and strive for the best!


Chia Howie

12 March 2022



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page