top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

My SST-DSA Experience

Updated: Aug 30, 2018

If you have not yet heard of School of Science and Technology (SST), you should start finding more about it via https://www.sst.edu.sg/. I promise, it will be an interesting read.


Did you know that SST only accepts students via DSA? https://www.sst.edu.sg/admission/admission-process/ Here is my personal experience of going through the application process in my attempt to enter this school.



Many P6 students including my classmates heard about SST and liked their concept on how much it focuses on technology. Hence, its no surprise that everybody was eager to apply for it. However, it is not easy to get into this secondary school. Every year there would be about 1,000 applicants, but it only admits 200 students. To enter the school, students need to pass through two rounds of challenges.


The first round is a written assessment that tests your general knowledge about Math and Science. It was filled with 16 pages of difficult questions! I recall being unable to complete the paper and so demoralized. All I could do than was to pray for a miracle to enter the second round. After two months of nerve-wrecking waiting, I was informed in an email that I successfully entered the second round! I could not contain my excitement and ran around the house. I prepared myself for the second round by practicing some interview questions with dad. On 4th Aug 2018, I entered SST for the third time.


For round two, I joined a random group of four students consisting of two girls and a boy. We would later be cooperating together to solve problems. While waiting, I spoke with them and soon we became friends. Soon it was our turn and we wished each other good luck and headed into the exam room together. This time the challenge consisted of both written assessment and team-based interview. The questions were much harder and I needed to think much deeper than before. Luckily, my team was full of ideas. We collaborated well as a team, and hardly had any arguments or quarrels. However, we had difficulty agreeing on a certain solution. Our weakness was that we constantly changed the plan when a new idea was thrown in. How easily we were swayed!


Regardless, I have already tried my best. The outcome will be made known at the end of the month. Nonetheless, it was certainly a fun and enriching experience! Thank you SST for the experience. We shall see if I am fated to study in this school after all… :)


Chia Howie

6 Diligence, RVPS

13 Aug 2018

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page