top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

OLE 2019: Day 2

The hotel's complimentary breakfast was surprisingly good. After eating to my heart's content, I picked up some basic Cambodian phrases (Khmel) in Singapore Cambodian International Academy (SCIA). The class then went to the Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum. These will be helpful for the Silk island's activity tomorrow.

My only picture taken at S21
My only picture taken at S21

It was a decrepit high school that has been converted into a museum after it was used as a jail for prisoners during the Cambodian Civil War. Many tourists were standing around with their heads lowered to show respect. The atmosphere was quiet despite many tourists. Everyone had a headset that gave a virtual tour of the place.


The human skulls, paintings and jail cells stood out the most. It reflected the harsh and cruel life of prisoners who here imprisoned there back then.


The buildings were fenced up to prevent prisoners in the past from escaping or from committing suicide by jumping out of the building.


The museum allowed me to imagine what it would be like if I was in the shoes of a prisoner back then. The museum's headphones provided visitors with an audio-guided tour through the place. I felt the pain and the sadness of the prisoners as I looked at the surroundings and heard their personal painful recounts.


This experience taught me to appreciate the peacetime we have in Singapore. You will never know when the war will erupt or when the next terrorist attack will happen. So, we should treasure whatever time we have with our family members.


~note: out of respect for the people who died there, I did not take many pictures. If you want to see more, please read this Wikipedia entry on Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum which includes several pictures with detailed descriptions.


Howie Chia

21 October 2019

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page