top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

OLE 2019: Day 3

Updated: Dec 12, 2019

I woke up with my heart pumping as I was looking forward to experience life as a farmer at Silk Island. Moving the soil, pulling the plastic sheets over the soil, burning holes on the sheet, digging holes and placing plants were just some of the many tedious tasks farmers had to do on a daily basis. On top of that, there were no clouds to shield me from the burning sun rays. It was back-breaking work. At times I wanted to escape and relax back in the hostel.

Farmers using Technology to improve productivity.
Farmers using Technology to improve productivity.

However, when I looked at the farmer couple, I realized that all these chores (and more) are just part of their normal day. I was just here for a day but they have to do this every day! Yet, they kept on smiling, happily doing their job.


I reflected on how I occasionally procrastinate even folding the clothes back home. It was a simple task, but I was too lazy to do it without parents nagging. I felt ashamed at that moment.

Afterwards, I was assigned to paint tires to paint and construct a flower pot at Koh Okhnately School. Even though it was boring, the thought of brightening the students' day made me persevere on.


Howie CHIA

22 Oct 2019

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page