top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

OLE 2019: Pre-trip Preparations

Updated: Jul 14, 2022

Days leading to the trip, my family and I started gathering all the items required for this OLE trip to Cambodia.


With so many things, it was easy to forget stuff. In addition, how are we even going to pack it in a way that will be able to fit into 1 single luggage but yet easy to find stuff later on?


First step was to sort out all my items according to meaningful categories. I got my dad to help me with this and we eventually decided on a 3x3 matrix (see below).


Next, applying ICT lessons from earlier this year, I created this google spreadsheet http://rebrand.ly/ole2019_inventory to help make sense of it all. You can use the “filter” function to sort out which category contains what items. I added a "Packed" column to help me keep track of what items I have stuffed into my hard casing luggage.

After several unsuccessful attempts (Yes, I admit it...), I was finally able to pack everything inside the white hard casing luggage. Leaving only the bare essentials for my day bag. These would be the passport, wallet, phone & water bottle.


In a nutshell, do not arrange your items like a "hamburger". Instead, try to always keep it level. Use things like compression bags to squeeze the air out of the clothes, then pack it in. Always place the largest items in first (think 7 habits, big rocks go in first...) and slowly add the other smaller items.


Another tip is to label all items required for the "Silk Island" excursion and bring along a separate expandable bag to stuff all those items in. This makes packing so much easier when I am there. Lastly, just bring along what is needed for that leg of the visit. Every gram counts!

So excited for this trip! Can't wait...


Howie CHIA

19 Oct 2019 (Day zero)

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page