top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

Science Castle Competition 2020 - Day 2

Updated: Apr 11, 2022

As I waited for Day 2 to start, I went to read about the other teams’ projects and was impressed by their submissions. The one that impressed me the most was from the NMH Bio Group who focused on cloning fish meat using a cell culture technique they developed in their school. Check out their videos and more.


Amazingly, they succeeded in growing cells of smallscale blackfish, but further testing must be done to see if these cells can develop into meat. If this project is able to scale up, it might solve the problem of food shortages that are happening around the world! Imagine a project by students that solved world hunger. Wow.


It was a pity that this year’s competition was done entirely online. I would have loved to mingle more with the other participants. Nonetheless, it has been a fun journey for my whole group.


Yeji Joel and I learnt much and bonded over the course of preparing for this conference. I hope there will be more similar opportunities where we can carry out this kind of experiments and hopefully apply our learning into the real world and make things better!



Update: Fast forward a week, and I am happy to receive a certificate from Science Castle. I have gathered a few certificates over the years, but this one holds special significance.


Related links:

Howie CHIA

5 November 2020


18 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page