top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

SJI Open House 2018

Updated: May 26, 2018

SJI Open House Reflections

14 April 2018


I did not expect this.


On Saturday morning, I simply followed my parents who registered for SJI open house. What was so special about this school that my parents had to reschedule their normal weekend routines to accommodate this? As always, I simply followed their instructions and went along with them.


As we entered the school gate, many students with neat uniforms and ties greeted us politely. They directed us to the registration area. A man dressed in robes was there handing out chocolates. After registration, we were ushered to the auditorium which was filled up many anxious parents and other Primary 6 students like myself.


Moments later, SJI Principal, Dr Adrian gave an opening speech about what makes SJI unique and what it means to be a Josephian. But what left the greatest impression was him challenging us to ask any student later “Are you Happy?”. He was confident that even though SJI drives their students very hard, that everyone one of his students are enjoying the experience.


Two year 2 boys then took to the stage to share their personal reflections on their first 2 years at SJI. One of them was clearly very nervous, stammering several times times. However, the other boy confidently shared about his fun experience in the SJI-organized camps. You could sense his excitement as he spoke. I wondered if I can ever speak that confidently in front of a large audience. More importantly, will I be able to have a similar engaging experience as him?

Students relating their experience at SJI

Next, a teacher named Mr Jude Tan thanked the boys and continued from there. He spoke about the importance of having a Holistic education. He warned parents to look beyond academic achievements and give equal attention to schools’ ECA.


To bring across how ECAs develop students’ resilience and commitment, he used an analogy of a teenage boy bringing back a different girlfriend at each festive period. That drew laughter from the crowd but also brought the point across that once a student decides on an ECA, he or she should commit to it throughout the next few years. Indirectly, he joked that the school was helping with parenting duties!


Before the briefing ended, I left the auditorium to go for my math tution class at Novena. However, my parents agreed to my request to do a quick tour of the school compound. The soccer field was massive. The registration area leading to the auditorium looks newly renovated. Just then a boy about my height approached me and asked if I needed help.


I spoke with him and learnt that he is a new student and only 3 months into SJI. He held a few pamphlets in his hands and showed them to me. As he explained what each drawing meant, I could not help but feel that I enjoy drawing things like that too!


He then shared that he entered SJI via the DSA route using his interest in Drawing. I was shocked at this revelation and quickly alerted my parents. Without saying anything, my parents understood my intention. We went to have a look at the art pieces that were showcased. This gave me a glimmer of hope. I thanked the boy for his time and finally left SJI with my parents.


As I left the school gate, I turned back to have a final look at the school and muttered to myself, “I’ll be back.”


Chia Howie

6 Diligence, RVPS

14 April 2018

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page