top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

Thailand, Khao Yai 18~21 Nov 2019

After a long three-hour drive from Khao Yai, we became hungry. Our driver Mr Suthin then brought us to a famous eatery called “Bah Mai Chai Nam”.


I was amazed at the sheer number of antique toys displayed around the restaurant. I felt that I was sucked back in time. The food was very good. Every dish was impressive, especially their Tom Yum soup with the right amount of spice and generous servings of seafood.


After dinner, we happily checked into our “Lala Mukha” campsite resort. Initially, I was disappointed to hear that we were staying at a campsite and the tent was not as big and spacious as Anmon, the other resort in Bintan. It had two beds together in a dim room with a television and sofa. We were unable to watch the television as it was faulty. We spent more time bonding by playing cards. The tent was also air-conditioned, though it was very cold at night.


I was surprised and worried that we had to share a common toilet which may be dirty and cramped. However, it turned out to be clean and beautiful! It was just like a spa! It had an open-aired common bath as well as individual baths. The dressing room had lockers, slippers and a hairdryer. After my bath, I gazed up and saw numerous luminous stars twinkling in the night sky. I have never seen so many stars in Singapore before. My dad quickly installed a stargazing app onto his phone, which we then used to learn about the different star patterns in the sky. Talk about Just-in-time learning!

I woke up early the next morning and went for my buffet breakfast. I saw my old classmate, Renee from River Valley Primary School (RVPS)! Our parents started talking and we took a group picture together.


Did you know that Khao Yai National Park is listed under Unesco sites? No wonder it has so many places with beautiful scenery! I realized how beautiful the sky was in the day. Instead of stars, small patches of clouds floated in the blue sky with the backdrop of the mountains. Our driver brought us to the peak of the mountain to get a better view of Khao Yai.


We would later see waterfalls and beautiful fields of colourful flowers. The most impressive views came from a bus ride to “Jim Thompson’s” silk farm. The mountainous backdrop seemed surreal.

“PB valley” was a close second.


My parents enjoyed the wine tasting at “PB valley” but I disliked the taste. I found their grape juice nicer than their wine. Surprisingly, my dad agreed with me.


In summary, Khao Yai is filled with many interesting places with beautiful scenery. My favourite is its beautiful mountainous landscapes. This place feels very homely despite its landscapes because of their homemade Thai food. I enjoyed my time at Khao Yai and will definitely come back in the foreseeable future.


Howie Chia 21 November 2019

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page