top of page

The Art of Presentation

Last Saturday, I was at Cantonment Paradise celebrating my grandfather’s birthday. I had a good time trying out the wide variety of food placed right before me. Not long, I became very bloated and decided to take a walk with Dad around the mall.


Public forum about Patients With Dementia (PWD)
Public forum about Patients With Dementia (PWD)

As we were walking, we saw an auntie talking to people about Patients With Dementia (PWD). It immediately reminded me about the volunteer activity I did in June. I wanted to see how different our presentation styles were. So, we sat down and listened attentively to the rest of her talk. After a while, we went back to the restaurant before the rest of our family members got worried. As we strolled back, Dad & I reflected on what we had observed earlier.


This presenter was quite expressive in her talking and kept gesturing as she spoke. To let the audience better understand her points, she often switched from English to Mandarin. However, she struggled to find the right words at times. Although PWD is a serious topic, she was far too serious throughout. To make matters worse, her points were long-winded and made it difficult for others to understand what she was trying to say.


The presentation would have been better if she injected a few light-hearted moments inside. For example, she could add a few jokes into her storytelling to entertain the crowd a little, while bringing her point across. Nonetheless, I think she got her message across in the end, which is what counts. I enjoyed her talk and learnt a bit about PWD in the process.


In a nutshell, she reminded me a lot of how I presented. This opportunity made me realize how much work goes into becoming a good speaker. However, I am confident that with practice, both of us can do a better job next time!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page