top of page
  • Writer's pictureHowie Chia

SP Open House 2024

Updated: Feb 1


Shadowing my seniors during the SP Open House 2024 at SP Plaza was an eye-opener. In particular, watching my CCA Comperes seniors in action left me in awe. Here are some of my key insights. 


Preparation is Key


Observing the rehearsal, I was impressed by how natural the emcees were on stage. They spoke confidently and showed good chemistry with each other. Only later when I had a chance to speak with them, I realised how much effort ”behind the scenes” is put into each performance. From getting familiar with their scripts, practising how they project their voices, to how they banter with each other, our emcees did all the hard work prior, so that during the LIVE session, everything appears natural and easy. 

 

Engaging the audience


Memorising scripts is one thing. Having the ability to engage the crowd is another. I was amazed by how our emcees were able to project their enthusiasm and engage the crowd.  

Shaik’s sharing of personal anecdotes is a tip I will keep as it allows the audience to connect with him. I like how he related his personal experiences of the lessons learned from SP’s courses. 


Other things I noticed were the choice of music and the use of physical exercises to maintain energy levels in the audience. Faith, Jauza, Lena, and Sofia all had different styles but each one was able to engage the audience which is what really matters.  


Keep Calm and Carry On


My limited experience with hosting during secondary school taught me to stay calm by imagining that I was having a friendly conversation with the audience. However, the moment I slip up, it usually goes downhill from there and I cannot recover. 


During the Open house, there were a few minor slip-ups, but our emcees were able to quickly steer the conversations back on track and continue to engage the audience. I credit this to their prep work and familiarity with the content (they knew exactly what was happening at the booths!) which allowed them to improvise well. Kudos to our senior emcees for their dedication and ability to adapt under stressful conditions. 


Vocabulary Versatility


Meredith and Jane’s ability to adapt their vocabulary on the fly was inspiring. They had a wide range of vocabulary, which allowed them to not repeat any phrases. I aim to improve my vocabulary so that I too can one day be able to adapt according to what the situation requires. 


Conclusion


Hosting an event as an emcee requires so much more than being able to speak confidently and clearly. The opportunity to shadow my seniors gave me insights into how a host who is familiar with the script, and event details can keep calm and continue to engage the audience at all times. 


I enjoyed this experience and am glad to have joined this CCA. I look forward to improving my emcee skills and hosting SP Open House 2025!


Chia Howie

5 January 2024

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


bottom of page