top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

Family 365

Updated: Jun 13, 2019

On 8th June, my parents, sister and I headed for the “Family for Life!” event held at Pasir Ris Park organised by People’s Association. I was excited about this event as I have always wished to camp with my family outside. My dream has finally come true!


There were so many activities planned for us, example “Leave No Trace” challenge, star gazing, astronomy class, you name it. However, I felt that my favorite activities were rock climbing and “Race Connect”.


Rock climbing was especially challenging as I have a fear of heights. Despite that, I overcame it thanks to my parents’ motivation. My desire to accomplish this goal propelled me to reach the top! In the end, I climbed the wall twice. Even though my hands were tired from the first attempt, I was actually faster in my 2nd attempt.



“Race Connect” consisted of 12 different engaging activities, for example: “Photo Hunt”, “Chicken ball: and “ Charades”, etc. Competing with the other teams for first place enhanced the fun. My family was part of the mighty team Leo! We teamed up with uncle VJ’s family and took down every obstacle in our way and managed to complete all the stations before time was up. Even though we did not come in first place, each of us felt like a winner because we put in our best efforts!


A short mention of the food. The meals catered for us were simple but tasty. We had curry chicken, scrambled eggs and vegetables. We were pleasantly surprised by how tasty they were. I was surprised to see everyone's plate was clean without a grain of rice left!



Through these 2 days, I learnt about being eco-friendly, some basic camping skills as well as astronomy. Other than that, I also experienced first hand how collaboration and communication are very important skills that were essential for us to complete many of the tasks.


The facilitators from Better Trails left a good impression. I was impressed by the way they projected themselves whenever addressing the group as an MC. In the future, I strive to be a confident and interactive speaker like Vincent, our chief facilitator. He spoke with pride and not once did he rely on a script!

Conclusion


Lastly, strengthening our bond with our family members is the key takeaway I learned at this camp. Even though we will form new bonds with new friends, we cannot let that weaken our bonds in our family. We must cherish every moment we have with our family members and not take it for granted.


My fav pic... scaling the wall!
My fav pic... scaling the wall!

Howie Chia 10 June 2019

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page