top of page
  • Writer's picturechiahowie

My First Music Competition 

Earlier today, along with the #SST guitar 🎸 ensemble, I entered Singapore Chinese Orchestra (SCO) for first time. After 2 months of hard work, we were finally at SCO to compete at this year's Singapore Raffles International Music Festival (SRIMF) event. I felt excited, nervous and relieved at the same time.

SST Ensemble (Guitar) Team 2019
SST Ensemble (Guitar) Team 2019

For the last 2 months, our SST team practiced our song "Blue Danube Waltz" numerous times. While waiting in the foyer area, we took some pictures and saw many violinists practicing. They all looked so professional and talented.


"Are we able to match up to their standards?" I wondered. I continued to doubt myself all the way to the point I stepped on the stage. Later, I found out that we were the only guitar ensemble. The rest were all violinist. Could this be a good thing, as it made our performance more unique?


Seeing how nervous everyone was at SCO, our instructor, Mr Ang reassured us that today was to just gain the experience. Simply put up our best show and enjoy the moment. That helped calm everyone down... just in time as we were motioned to get ready to go on stage.


When I saw my parents in the front row seats, I felt a sense of assurance. My confidence returned and I was determined to do my best for them and the ensemble team. Not sure how many other parents turned up to watch, but I felt fortunate to have such supportive parents.


To my pleasant surprise, I was able to play every verse smoothly with minimal errors today! At the end of the performance, the team felt we did well enough to guarantee at least a bronze. Knowing we tried our best, we congratulated each other for all the hard work over last 2 months. Regardless of the result, we were proud of our team's effort.


As it was the eve of National Day, SST ended school early. So, I was already home by late afternoon. Suddenly, I heard my mom scream. I dashed out of my room to see her frantically waving her phone...

"SST won the gold award!"

I was overjoyed! Our hard work paid off handsomely in the end. What a great experience it turned out to be. I am so glad to be in SST's guitar club and look forward to participating in more competitions in the future! 加油 #SST!


To commemorate this milestone, I took the National Day long weekend to edit a short video from what pics and videos I obtained from my teachers, friends and parents. Enjoy!


PS+ If you like what you see and keen to join SST's Guitar club, check out our FB page https://www.facebook.com/guitarensembleSST/


Howie

08 Aug 2019

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page