top of page
  • Writer's pictureHowie Chia

Celebrations@SST 2023

Updated: Oct 26, 2023

Before graduating from SST, I already knew that I was heading to Singapore Poly (SP) thanks to the EAE program. While waiting for life at my new school, I was pleasantly surprised to be invited back to SST to attend this year’s Celebrations@SST (2023)!


It was just back in 2022 that I was at Celebrations@SST collecting "SST CCA Outstanding Performance" award. This time the entire guitar ensemble was back again for one of the guitar performances we participated in. I was excited to see my friends in the guitar ensemble again!


Returning to SST without wearing my school uniform felt weird. However, being able to meet my CCA mates again put a smile on my face. In the past 6 months, some of us met up on a few occasions but it still felt like ages since we last met!


The principal, Mr Chan, went through the school's achievements and thanked their supporters. Besides our guitar ensemble, many of my friends also attended the ceremony. Some due to academic performances, others for excellence in CCA or leadership. I was happy to see them bouncing up the stage to receive their respective awards. Everyone worked hard and deserved it!


When it was my turn, I proudly went on stage to collect my award. It felt particularly meaningful to me because this was a team award. I feel that our guitar ensemble was a great example of a high-performing team. Any musical performance comes alive when everyone is playing in harmony, yet it only takes one person to be off-key and out of tune for the performance to be marred. I was blessed with great teachers and teammates during my time with SST guitar ensemble. Everyone was committed and played their part in creating beautiful music together. I gladly held the award in my hands and smiled to have my picture taken with Mr Sze.

I have returned, still dressed in blue!

Although it was over in mere seconds, I was quite proud of this moment. I am grateful to have met good friends, teachers, and instructors through SST Guitar Ensemble. In particular, I am grateful to the teachers and instructors for giving me the opportunity to lead the CCA.


My adventure at SST has finally come to a close. A new adventure just across the street at SP awaits!


Chia Howie

14 April 2023

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page