top of page
  • Writer's pictureHowie Chia

Day 4 @Vietnam 2023

Sapa - Best View


On my last day at Sapa, I got up early to have more time to explore some of the local town areas by foot. My parents and grandma were still asleep so I quietly had breakfast by myself and took a walk around the area. 


There was a nice plantation opposite KK Spa Hotel, so I followed a well-beaten path that lead me into the grassy fields. It was a bit rocky and steep but when I reached down the valley, I was rewarded with some amazing scenery. Seeing early morning’s ray of light bathe over the landscape made me feel as if I was in a movie scene. On my way back, I stumbled past a coffee house tucked away at a corner. It was still early (around 8am) so they probably haven’t opened for business yet. The place was maintained well, so its likely in operation. However, the path down to this coffee shop is not easy. So, I wonder how many visitors would go out of their way to get here.  



From here, I continued walking to the town area and saw some small alleys where the locals were walking to & fro, carrying groceries. So, I followed them and found a whole new world. There were so many small cafes and hostels inside this enclave. There was also people selling fish, pork, vegetables, fruits along the road. It was like a “wet market” but more spread out. The roads were very steep, but the old people seem to navigate through easily. Cars and motorcycles were going up and down this impossibly steep slope like it was nothing. I would carry on walking all the way to the big pond at the city center before making my way back to the hotel. 


After my family checked out of the hotel, Mr Vincento treated us to some nice coffee with a stunning view of Sapa from above the clouds. The view here is so unbelievable that its easy to see why this place was called “Best View”. My mom and dad got excited taking photos that they lost track of time. I too had a blast climbing to the many different areas to take pictures of this beautiful landscape. There was also a married couple with a team of photographers shooting wedding photos. There was a giant swing that vistor could sit and marvel at the scenery. There was also a club house that was large enough to hold parties and weddings. Check out Best View’s facebook page to learn more about this wonderous place. 






When we were all done taking photos, there was fresh coconut & wi-fi waiting for me at the coffee shop! From here, Mr Vincento brought us for another delicious lunch at a local restaurant. While we waited for our driver to arrive, Mr Vincento overhead me sharing about walking to nearby fields and seeing the wet markets. So, he quickly arranged for a tram to bring us around. With his help, my parents and grandma was able to see the places I explored earlier today. Having a guide really maximised every minute of our time in Sapa. Worth it!


Overall, this was a great way to end our visit to Sapa. Mr Vincento saved the best for last and certainly left us with a very good impression of Sapa. 


Chia Howie

12 December 2024

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page