top of page
  • Writer's pictureHowie Chia

MAD Director’s Honour Roll 2024

Updated: Aug 23

It felt surreal to receive a certificate of commendation at this year's MAD Director's Honor Roll.


As I entered the venue, I saw several unfamiliar faces, but all filled with excitement and anticipation. It was fun to sit among fellow MAD coursemates, many of whom I have never met (we are a big cohort).  The free cupcakes given at the entrance were a nice touch and helped ease the tension by making it not so formal.

As the emcee called out each recipient's name, everyone walked proudly to the stage, to shake hands with our MAD (pun intended) director, Mr Mark LU. It was a brief moment where we received our certificate and take a wefie with our director. Many parents’ faces were beaming as they busily snapped pictures of their children. Setting aside time to grace the event made the experience even more special. Of course, my parents' unwavering support has been instrumental in my success.

I always believed that it's the hard work and the journey that counts, but it feels good to get recognition once in a while. I’m grateful to my SP lecturers for their continued guidance and encouragement. They try their best to impart their knowledge, skills and inspire us to strive for excellence, but I know sometimes they don't get appreciated as much as they should.


A meme of 2 boys in a bus, one looking at positive side while other looks at negative side

It made me reflect that we are all riding on the same bus, but we have a choice to look at the situation with a positive outlook. Instead of complaining about the situation we are in, we can choose to look at the bright side and just be grateful for the many learning opportunities we have as Singaporeans and SPians.  


Reflecting on the past year, I'm more certain than ever that my decision (back in 2022) to come to poly was right. I will continue to work hard at SP and celebrate these “mini” victories along the way. If my little sharing inspires you, and you want to engage with me, consider connecting with me!


Chia Howie

21 August 2024


TLDR Got my first award at SP, as well as a nice wefie with our MAD director, Mr Mark LU and a free cup-cake! Nice way to wrap up my 2nd year at SP.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page